Top spot at NZ Short Course Champs for Capital

A team of A and B squad swimmers took fourth place overall at the recent 2015 New Zealand Short Course Championships.

The Capital swimmers travelled to Auckland for the 11-15 August event at the new Sir Owen G. Glenn National Aquatic Centre on the North Shore.

“The team performed fantastically over the whole week,” says Coach Timon Wilkinson.

“We had four swimmers competing at a national meet for the first time (Megan Cox, Che Pulepule, Jarod De Vos and Natasha Rae). Three of our swimmers won National Open titles (Ben Walsh, Emma Robinson and Samantha Lee).

“The most pleasing aspect of the meet was our ability to race fast in the morning swims, focus on areas for improvement and then swim faster in the evening finals,” says Timon.


Women’s 400Fr relay - 3rd
Men’s 800Fr relay - 3rd

Individual results:
Campbell Tacon:  2nd 100Fly, 3rd 200Fly
Lewis Clareburt:   1st 400IM, 3rd 100IM, 2nd 200Fly
Macy Burns:          2nd:100Br, 1st 200IM, 2nd 50Br, 2nd 100IM, 2nd 50Bk
Ben Walsh:           1st 50Br, 1st 100Br, 1st 200Br
Hamish Trlin:        3rd 100Br, 2nd 400IM, 3rd 200IM, 2nd 200Br, 1st 1500Fr
Carina Doyle:        3rd 400Fr
Emma Robinson:  1st 800Fr
Samantha Lee:      2nd 50Fly, 3rd 50Fr, 1st 100Fly, 1st 200Fly